Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Elect​​ronic Medical Record ‎Adoption Model (EMRAM)‎‎‎‎ - Stage 7

Electronic Medical Record ‎Adoption Model (EMRAM)‎‎‎‎ - Stage 7

King Abdulaziz Medical City-Riyadh Achieves HIMSS Analytics EMRAM Stage 7

HIMSS Inpatient-EMRAM Stage 7  

King Abdulaziz Medical City-Riyadh at the Ministry of National Guard - Health Affairs has been awarded Stage 7 on the Electronic Medical Record Adoption Model (EMRAM) by HIMSS Analytics in Europe. With 1,796 beds, King Abdulaziz Medical City joins a prestigious group of healthcare organisations across the globe that are committed to operating in a paperless environment, using advanced analytics to drive transformational change in all aspects of care.

This EMRAM validation enhances King Abdulaziz Medical City’s strong record in using information and technology to improve patient care. The organisation has already achieved Stage 7 on the Outpatient Electronic Medical Record Adoption Model (O-EMRAM), and Stage 6 on both the Digital Imaging Adoption Model (DIAM) and Infrastructure Adoption Model (INFRAM).

His Excellency, Dr. Bandar Al Knawy, Chief Executive Officer at the Ministry of National Guard - Health Affairs (MNGHA), said, “MNGHA’s commitment to providing optimum healthcare services in an utmost safe environment for the patients is enabled, in part, by innovative health IT infrastructure and solutions. This strategic objective can ideally be achieved through a highly mature implementation of various digital healthcare platforms.”

Dr. Raed Al Hazme, IT Executive Director at MNGHA, commented, “To enable MNGHA’s vision, mission and strategic objectives, we have implemented a full-stack of health IT solutions. HIMSS Analytics adoption models are highly valuable tools that we utilize as benchmarks to identify our health IT maturity level, as well as blueprints for improvement and adoption of best practices.”

“The degree of staff engagement, clinical leadership and governance in general is quite outstanding in this hospital. There have been a number of cultural changes that have been made as a result of the efforts to embed technology enabled transformation, not only into new workflows but also into new behaviours and clinical perspectives,” said John Rayner, Regional Director of Europe, HIMSS Analytics. “This is an impressive hospital with strong clinical engagement and visible leadership from all members of the senior management team.”

The EMR Adoption Model (EMRAM) is an eight stage model that measures digital maturity in a hospital, with 0 the lowest and Stage 7 the highest level. Achieving EMRAM Stage 7 represents the hospital’s commitment to using information and technology in a smart way to improve care quality, safety and efficiency.

HIMSS Inpatient-EMRAM Stage 7  
Last Modified

11/30/2022 4:17 PM